Sonor Ensemble

Chamber group

The SONOR ENSEMBLE, founded in 2004, is one of the chamber groups with the greatest national and international projection on the Spanish music scene, and its activity has continued stable since then. Based in Madrid, it is formed almost entirely by musicians from the Spanish National Orchestra, conducted by Maestro Luis Aguirre. It has offered more than 200 concerts with performances at major festivals in Spain, and in countries such as Bulgaria, Finland, Sweden, Switzerland, China, South Korea, Russia, Italy, Portugal, Argentina, France, Iceland, Poland and Cuba.

One of its aims is the promotion of the Spanish music, especially that of the 20th and 21st centuries, through a policy of commissions to composers of recognized artistic talent. The works commissioned are premiered, incorporated into its repertoire and performed on numerous occasions, both in Spain and abroad.


The group is committed to the diffusion of those works by incorporating them into very attractive programs for the public, so that they reach a large audience and not just a limited number of listeners.

Among the composers who have written for the Sonor Ensemble we can mention: Zulema de la Cruz, Ángel Oliver, Manuel Angulo, Claudio Prieto, Delfín Colomé, Javier Jacinto, Federico Jusid, Gustavo Gini, Oliver Rappoport, Gloria Isabel Ramos, Rodrigo Lima, Eurico Carrapatoso, José Luis Turina, Pablo Miyar, Daniel Bjardason, Sebastián Mariné, Santiago Quintans, José Manuel López, Eduardo Morales-Caso, Félix Sierra, Luis de Pablo, Tomás Bohórquez, Jesús Legido, Jesús Torres, Jacobo Durán-Loriga, Jesús Ángel León, Silvine Milstein and a long etcetera that continues to grow every year.

The Sonor Ensemble has recorded for RNE, RTVE, Icelandic National Radio, Fundación Autor label, Polish National Radio, Orpheus Classical and Portuguese National Radio.

For several years the group carried out an important pedagogical activity in collaboration with the Ministry of Culture of the Community of Madrid, offering annual series of concerts intended for thousands of students in Madrid. Invited by the Ministry of Culture of Argentina, the Sonor Ensemble also participated with concerts and educational activities in the commemorative events of the Bicentennial in Buenos Aires.

Luis Aguirre – Artistic and Music Director 

He was born in Madrid, where he studied Economics at the Madrid Autonomous University, and Piano, Composition and Orchestral Conducting at the Royal Conservatory of Music. He furthered his studies at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London, the Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst “Mozarteum” in Salzburg and the University of Indiana (USA).

Between 1986 and 1987 he was Assistant Conductor for the Spanish National Orchestra, and in 1995/96 and 1996/97 he was Chief Conductor of the Navarre Symphony Orchestra – “Pablo Sarasate”. He has been music and artistic director of the Sonor Ensemble since its foundation in 2004. Among others, he has also conducted the Spanish Radio Television Symphony Orchestra, Madrid Symphony Orchestra, Royal Seville Symphony, Castile and Leon Symphony, Gran Canaria Philharmonic, New Orchestra of Boston, Bournemouth Symphony, Soloists of the New York Metropolitan, Santa Fé Symphony (Argentina), Jalisco Philharmonic (México), Portuguese National Symphony, etc.

He has worked with soloists such as Maxim Vengerov, Oleg Kagan, Pierre Amoyal, György Pauk, Emile Naumoff, Asier Polo, Ara Malikian, Nicolas Chumachenko, Yi-Jia Hou, Christian Altenburger, Eldar Nebolsin, etc.

Recently, he received the “Reyes Catholics” Gold Medal – Foro Europa, for his professional career and promotion of the Spanish music.


Boccherini: Night Music from the streets of Madrid

Manuel de Falla: Two Dances from “Love the Magician”

Federico García-Lorca: Spanish Folksongs

Román Alís: La Roda del Temps op.138

Jáuregui: The Religion of Love Ibn Arabi (In Memoriam Sir John Tavener)

Ernesto Halffter: Serenade to Dulcinea & Habanera

Dvorak: Als die alte Mutter op.55 no.4

Sigvaldi Kaldalóns: Ave Maria

Gerardo Gómez de Valcarcel

Executive Director & Artist Manager

Fernando Morales

Artist & Project Manager